Negative Visualization is a good thing

Have you ever considered visualization? It basically means forming a mental image of something whether it’s your goals, wants or desires. Positive visualization is common when it comes to your aspirations. Visualizing the negative outcomes can also be a good thing. Did you know, pessimism and negative visualization are similar concepts? The latter is a part of the former. One thing is certain though, I know a great number of people who use negative visualization for their betterment.

Negative visualization is imagining the worst case scenario BUT using that image to be grateful for not being in that disposition. While a pessimist imagines the worst and believes that it will happen. Pessimists remain in that negative and unruly state.

Get it? You paint a picture of what worst could have happened (past) and become grateful that it didn’t happen. Being grateful is the first step to inner peace, is what I always say. Future wise, imagine the worst thing that might happen and ask yourself, is this really the worst thing that could happen to me? Next step is to plan for the worst case scenarios. This another advantage of negative visualization, you prepare for the worst. “Expectation is the root of all heartache” – William Shakespeare

I use negative visualization really often. I’m not against on focusing on the positive but denying the negative outcomes might hinder you, in a way. Living in this world and only looking at rainbows and cupcakes will actually bite you in the butt. Ignoring the bad things that are and will happen, won’t get you anywhere as well as focusing solely on it. Acknowledge and accept its presence. When you know that not everything will not turn out according to plan, you will gain inner peace. This will also give you a chance to be grateful. By looking at the silver linings, you begin to see that it’s not as terrible as it seems.

If you still don’t get it, let me tell you how I use it. I used to imagine what it’s like being impaired- I lose my right arm or leg. I wanted to see if it would be the worst thing that could happen to me. It wouldn’t. People like Stephen Hawking and Nicholas James Vujicic makes it hard for me to make it the worst. Losing an arm or a leg does not equal to losing part of me. I am still me even if I do lose some limbs. Despite that though, I am not impaired or disabled. That makes me truly grateful. It is true what they say, “you only miss it when it’s gone.” Through negative visualization, you don’t need to lose it to appreciate it.

There are so many things to be grateful for. Can’t think of one? Try to imagine having nothing and no one. Appreciate everything you have while you still have it because you never know when you might lose it. Life slips through our fingers no matter how hard we hold on to it.

Leave a Reply

